Barton is a town in Allegany County, Maryland, located along the Georges Creek Valley. It is part of the Cumberland, MD-WV Metropolitan Statistical Atrea. The Reverand William Show, a Methodist minister, settled on the site of Barton in 1794. His son, William Shaw, Jr., laid out the town in 1853, naming it for his father's hometown, Barton-upon-Humber, England. The discovery of coal in the area attracted more settlers. They came from Scotland, Ireland and Germany, eager to work in the mines. In 1853, the first shipment of coal was made on the newly-built Georges Creek Railroad. The first gristmill powered by a water wheel was built on Moores Run by Henry Ingram. The mill at Moores Run was owned and tended by Mathias Ball, who also owned and ran a tannery at Butcher Run in Barton. Barton was the home of 7 major coal companies: American Coal Company, Davis & Rieman Co, Piedmont Coal & Iron Co, Potomac Coal Co., Swanton Mining Co., Georges Creek Mining Co., and the Barton Coal Mining Co. Shaw Mansion was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1985.
Today, Barton has four churches and many volunteer groups. There is a lighted ball field, a playground, and two parks for use by citizens. Barton has survived floods and fires and still maintains its peaceful and congenial atmosphere. Each year the town celebrates itself with a Part in the Park, which showcases crafts, food, entertainment, and a jparade through the center of town.