Lonaconing is a town in Allegany County, MD and is located along the Georges Creek Valley. It is part of the Cumberland, MD -WV Metropolitan Statistical Area. The first non-Native American settlers in the late 18th century were explorers, hunters and farmers. Names of some of the first settlers ere Dye, Duckworth, Green, Fazenbaker, Grove, VAnBuskirk, Knapp and Miller. The first stone house built in 1797 in Knapps Meadow just north of Lonaconing was owned by Samuel VanBuskirk and still stands as of 2010. The Lonaconing Historic District was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1983. Lonaconing is the birthplace of Baseball Hall of Fame pitcher Lefty Grove. Iron and coal companies in Lonaconing built railroads in the late 1840's, in anticipation of connecting with the Baltimore and Ohio (B&O) Railroad and the Chesapeake and Ohio Canal. Some of these mining companies owned and operated their own railroad equipment. The Georges Creek Rail Road was built south from Lonaconing to connect with the Baltimore & Ohio at Piedmont, VA. All of the rail lines were absorbed into the Cumberland and Pennsylvania (C&P) Railroad by 1970. The Georges Creek Coal and Iron Company constructed and operated a blast furnace in Lonaconing from 1836 to 1855 along with constsructing and operating the related Georges Creek Railroad from 1851 to 1863. The Lonaconing Furnace was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1973.