Museum-Week

Mountain Maryland Museum Week

The 2nd Annual Mountain Maryland Museum Week will take place June 9-18, 2023.

Mountain Maryland Museum Week is a 10-day promotion celebrating Allegany County, the Mountain Side of Maryland's three centuries of American history. We invite you to travel back in time as you explore our museum attractions and history and heritage-focused experiences celebrating America's early transportation milestones as told in our rivers, rails, trails, mountains, and towns.

Participating Museums

  • 3 Pershing Street
  • (301) 777-7200

The Allegany Museum offers an in-depth journey through Allegany County and the surrounding region's history, spanning from the arrival of Native Americans 12,000 years ago to the 20th century Industry. The museum also highlights the evolution of transportation, featuring the…

  • 104 Washington Street
  • (240) 580-1070

The C. William Gilchrist Gallery and Museum is a charming early 19th-century Federal mansion, built-in 1845, in transitional Federal-Greek Revival architectural style. It houses six renovated galleries (those on the ground floor comprising the Gilchrist Gallery), an art library…

  • 16 Washington Street
  • (301) 777-3364

Emmanuel's history begins at the very dawn of our life as a nation. Events took place on the site of the Church that led directly to the founding of our nation. As Cumberland grew, so did the Parish ' as a community of faith and as a force for justice in the community. FORT…

  • 15613 Trimble Road NW
  • (301) 687-0664

This historic farm, located just outside Mt. Savage, was established over 200 years ago. It includes three museums (the Farmhouse Museum, Agricultural Museum in the c.1783 barn, and the Coal Camp Museum) plus acres of gardens, greenhouses, a sawmill, and three outdoor pavilions…

  • 632 Washington Street
  • (301) 777-8678

F. Brooke Whiting House & Museum is a 1911 historic bungalow overflowing with Asian Works of Art and American, European and British decorative arts. Experience the art a worldwide connoisseur left behind. Brooke Whiting was born on December 5, 1918 to F. Brooke I and Ruth White…

  • 50 E Main Street
  • (301) 689-1195

Check out our new location on Main Street, in Frostburg, MD.  The Braddock Stone, a local highway marker carved from stone in the 1800s, is housed in a replica pavilion outside the front entrance of Main Street, Frostburg, Maryland, location.

  • 38 Greene Street
  • (301) 759-6636

The Headquarters of George Washington is a historic site, located at 38 Greene Street, in the historic downtown district of Cumberland, Maryland. The centerpiece and primary attraction at the site is a historic log cabin twice occupied by George Washington, the first President of…

  • 218 Washington Street

While museums can give you a sense of what life was like in the late 1800s, your best glimpse back in time is the Gordon Roberts House. Named for the two families that resided here, today it is owned by the Allegany County Historical Society and open for tours. This historic…

  • 14302 National Highway
  • (301) 777-5132

Constructed in 1811, the National Road, the first federally funded road, made Cumberland "The Gateway to the West," establishing mile marker one. Travel the road as it cuts through the Narrows in LaVale, a spectacular 1,000-foot breach between Wills and Haystack Mountains that…

Historic Sites

These historic sites are free and open to the public at any point from dawn until dusk. 

  • Iron Furnace Park, Main Street

Built in 1837 by the George's Creek Coal and Iron Company, the Iron Furnace was the first in the United States to successfully use coal and coke fuel rather than charcoal to produce pig iron. The massive furnace produced nearly 75 tons of iron per week at its height of…

  • 3 Union Street

Lefty Grove was born in the small coal-mining town of Lonaconing, Maryland, on March 6, 1900. He rose from the depths of abject poverty to become one of the greatest players in baseball history. Lefty retained a residence in Lonaconing throughout his baseball career. He raised…

  • Paw Paw Tunnel

Stretching from Georgetown to Cumberland, the canal was used as a way to transport rich natural resources such as iron ore, coal, and timber, from the West to the Eastern Seaboard, which fueled the development of the canal. Located at mile-post 155.2 of the canal, the Paw Paw…

  • 535 FAYETTE ST
  • (301) 777-3364

Located at 535 Fayette St., about ¾ mile from the Church, Rose Hill is both the Parish cemetery and resting place of most of Cumberland's historic personages. Rose Hill was given to Emmanuel by the family of Captain David Lynn, who was given the land in payment for services…

  • Riverside Park

Authorized during Thomas Jefferson's administration and constructed beginning in 1811, the National Road was the main transport path for thousands of settlers and helped to physically unite the young nation during its westward expansion. About 620 miles long, the National Road…

More to Consider